Tutorials

Ancestral Quest Tutorials

Learn Ancestral Quest from the Expert at Home

In my classes at the Ogden FamilySearch Library, I use tutorials produced by Gaylon Findlay, of Incline Software, to teach the basic concepts of Ancestral Quest. He wrote Ancestral Quest, which is the basis for PAF, so who better to teach the class? To reach these tutorials, do the following:

Start Ancestral Quest, and click on FamilySearch on the menu bar. The second item on the menu is View Tutorials. Click on this menu item.

This brings up the Ancestral Quest Learning Center web page. Use the slider on the right to view the entire page.

During the first week of class, I show the Quick Start Video Tutorial.

During the first lesson, I only show part of this tutorial. There is a lot of information to be absorbed in a short time. I end on a topic which I like to explore in a little more depth, Sources.

On the second week, I introduce linking records in the local file to records in the FamilySearch Family Tree.

Since many of our patrons are PAF users, I show the Full Training Tutorial for PAF Users.

On the third week I show the video dealing with the Ordinance Reservation and Tracking System.

On the fourth week, I return to the Quick Start Tutorial.

I show the last half of this video, which teaches Scrapbooking and the Collaboration facility. I also show how to extend the search capabilities of Ancestral Quest by creating your own searches on the internet.

If you would like to explore these tutorials on your own, you can access them through Ancestral Quest, or you can follow this LINK to the Ancestral Quest Learning Center web page.

Suggestions/Questions about AQ Will Do or Subjects discussed here? Leave a Comment.

I would like to hear from you!