Custom Reports

Ancestral Quest – Custom Reports

I decided that I needed three different directories. One for my paternal relatives, one for my maternal relatives, and one for both. Only the descendants of my mom and dad would receive a directory containing both. I assigned Tag 1 to the living descendants of my father’s father who were alive and 18 or older. I assigned Tag 2 to the living descendants of my mother’s mother who were alive and 18 or older. The descendants of both my parents received both tags.

Now we come to the explanation of how to do this. Since this report is about living people, I decided that I shouldn’t actually show my relatives on this blog. Instead, I generated a demonstration database. It holds two main families, the Demonstrations and the Examples, who merge in the third generation. The given names show their generation level and their birth order. First generation people have the numeric given name 001. Second generation people are named 011 thru 014. Third generation people are named 111 and 112.

People with Tag 1 set belong on the Example Directory. People with Tag 2 set belong on the Demonstration directory. People with both tags set belong on the Combined Directory. We will now define the report.

Click on the Report icon (this is the printer) in the Tool bar, to bring up the Reports and Charts screen. Click on the Custom tab. The default Title: is Custom Report. Change this title to Example Directory. Click on the Select… button. This brings up the Select Set of Individuals screen.

Click on the Define… button in the Field Selections box. This brings up the Field Filtering screen.

This is where you choose the people for the report. Scroll down the list and click Tags. Click the > button to move Tags to the Current Filter: box. Click OK to go to the Tags Field Filter screen.

The red  number 1 Tag is already selected, and that is the one I want, and the Is Set radio button is already pushed, so I click the OK button. I click OK again to select the 18 people who will be on the report. I click OK a third time to return to the Reports and Charts screen. Click on the Fields button to bring up the Report Fields screen.

This is where you select the fields to go on the report. It is also where you customize those fields by changing column width and column title. When I created this database, I placed information in the Contact screen for each individual. These are the fields I will use for the report.

Highlight Contact Name and click the Column Options… button. This brings up the Column Options: Custom Name screen. The default Header: is Contact Name. Replace this with Name. Change the Width: from 25 to 35, and click OK. Continue by changing Contact Phone to Phone Number, and Contact Email to Email Address, with a length of 45. Click the Sort Order… button to bring up the Sort Order screen. Highlight Contact Name and click the > button to move contact Name to the Order List: box.

Click OK to return to the Reports and Charts screen. Click the Preview button to see the report.

From here you can print the report, or go back and create it in PDF format. Change the Title: to Demonstration Directory. Click Select…, click Clear to clear the selected names in the Field Selections box, and click Define… again, to select those with Tag 2 set.

Click OK three times, and preview the next report.

Repeat the process selecting those with Tag 1 or Tag 2.

And get this report.

I would like to hear from you!

